Erase Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default Erase Hard Drive

does anyone in here know how to complety erase a Hard Drive...im a new to this thing so im gonna need lotta help thanks!
__________________

PHATCC is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Your going to put in a Windows OS (operating system) CD and then you will be able to Format your hard drive. Format means erase every trace of information on a HDD so than you can do what ever you want o do with it.
__________________

AT2005 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
Default

i dont know what that is...is it the WINXP cd???or what
PHATCC is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Does it say Windows XP on the cd silk screening? If so its your OS Cd
AT2005 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

just pop in your os disk, click new install, then it should restart you computer, and then you just install the new os over your old one, and that should delete everything, takes like 35 mins for it to be done
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Took me 45 minutes. Not that 10 minutes makes a diff. Yeah, the OS disc is the shiny one with the little pictures on it and is labeled "Windows XP Home Edition".
Regulus is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

or windows xp proffesionals edition, and maybe windows 2000 ,98, 95,and ME
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

or you could make a dos boot disk and put fdisk.exe and format.com on it, boot of it, delete current partition, format, create new partition, format. That wil ensure that when you install windows again it will be a fresh copy
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

use the windows xp professional, much much better than the rest of those other versions, 2000 is known to be hackable...xp home is ok, but not enough security

so juss install it, one thing good about win xp, they auto format, so you don't have to actually enter commands to erase the HD
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

just a question, why would you want to erase your HD? alot of spyware or something?
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.