Emulate Keyboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2007, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Emulate Keyboard

As you may or may not know (made a post about clustering a little bit ago), Ive got a bunch of computers set up in my basement for folding. However, when the power goes out, as it sometimes does, they wont boot because they dont have keyboards attached (checked the bios, no option to ignore the lack of keyboard).

Is there any way to build a keyboard emulator? Im pretty knowledgable with electronics, so reading and building from schematics isnt a problem.
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Emulate Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikedCola View Post
checked the bios, no option to ignore the lack of keyboard
Are you sure?
In most BIOS's, you just have to use the setting "halt on: No errors"
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: Emulate Keyboard

Im sure. The majority of these computers are pre-2000 so theyre not of the newest technology. Also, three of them (i think) have either proprietary (think Seanix) or outdated bioses, nothing like the AMI bioses of today.
__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard Doesn't Work in Photoshop CS2 kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-23-2007 09:44 AM
cordless mouse / keyboard probs smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-26-2007 11:04 AM
Saitek Keyboard Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-09-2007 05:03 PM
Hot Deal: Logitech G15 Keyboard for $59.99 Trotter Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 03-25-2007 04:45 PM
Keyboard Compatibility? GSM CEO Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-24-2007 05:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.