eMachines Athlon No Post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2005, 12:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Angry eMachines Athlon No Post

Here's the computer, guys. It's not my own (wouldn't take an eMachines as a gift), it's one I'm trying to fix.
  • VIA L7VMM MoBo
  • Athlon XP 2000+ Processor
  • Crappy PSU (already tried swapping; it isn't the problem)
  • 512 mb Samsung RAM

Computer turns on, all the fans start spinning, but the monitor light doesn't even turn green. I already disconnected the other components to isolate the problem, so I didn't bother putting them in the list. Incidentally, the computer isn't new. I'm not sure when it's from but it's at least a couple years old.

Any ideas on how to get the stupid thing to post?


dipique is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default Re: eMachines Athlon No Post

Originally posted by dipique
You just awnsered your own question.

so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique

Hmm.. maybe I should try removing the label and see if it works.

dipique is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496


I'm guessing the ram or cpu man, sometimes even the mobo's die. Now, the cpu and ram seem to be of good quality, so I'd try those parts onna diff mobo without the HD or anything connected. Cause yeah, you don't need that stuff to POST. Just have the PSU connected to the mobo, and the cpu and ram in there.

If you have a spare mobo laying around that supports socket A and DDR 400 ram? give it a go. If yours supports it? you could also try it there.

Btw, emachines aren't ALL that bad. They say emachines has the best customer support for a big computer brand company.. so that has to count for something.
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique

Thanks, that was what I was afraid of. I guess i was hoping I could click my heels together twice and tap it with an AMD logo and make things all better. I appreciate the input and when I get it working again I'll drop a note.

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.