Eide???????????? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 10:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my drives are:
1st= IDE/UDMA66
2nd=IDE/UDMA4

have an old comp..see specs
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Gizmo - In fact, if you don't know what SCSI is, I'm gonna say stay away from SATA too. Just go with the good-ol ATA drives. Faithful, fast, dependable, cheap, simple.

Major:

IDE stands for Integrated Drive Electronics
EIDE stands for Enhanced Integrated Drive Electronics

EIDE is the updated version of IDE (faster transmission times, protocols, etc).

For the record, though, plain IDE is legacy and not made anymore (except by special mf and need). When people/merchants refer to a drive as IDE, today, they really mean EIDE.

Unless your system is like 8 years old (or more) you probably don't need to worry about it.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my system is from 97 almost 8 years
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Get yer HD model number and go to the mf website and look at the specs. :/
Like I said, IDE isn't made anymore.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 12:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

but my drives are really old too, so they should be IDE
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 12:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

No, Major, they could be plain IDE, not should be. Looking at what ShoobieRat is saying, your system is borderline. It may or may not be. To find out for sure, your going to have to do what ShoobieRat said. Get the model number, and check on the manufacturer's website.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 02:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

Thanks Guys!
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.