Editing System - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 03:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yes, you can get away with only one cdrom. I only have one, and most people I know only have one.

As for the Apple, no, he dosent want an Apple, he wants a PC, or else he would have said he wants an apple. Yes, Final cut Pro is a top of the line program, but there are others that are just as good. Adobe Premier is a very popular program, and is often used for big budget movies. MAYA is another one that is one of the best out there.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

The DVD-RW drive you picked will be the only optical drive you need. It will play all dvd-rom, cd, audio, etc.

I would really consider changing your CPU and Mobo if I were you though. Socket 478 is really outdated, and intel will stop making CPU's for it before too long, if they haven't already. Plus, you're paying a pretty penny for such an outdated board if you get the one that you picked out. Your computer would be fast, but my suggestion will make it quite a bit faster for video editing/encoding. You would be much better off with a dual core processor. Intel's cheapest dual core is only $20 more than the CPU you picked out, so the difference is very minor. You can check out intel's dual cores here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property

Match that with a motherboard and switch your memory to DDR2 and that combo will be much more efficient at video editing (not to mention way more upgradeable in the future).
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

hey he was asking for advice on what computer he should get. if he is buying a computer for video editing, and has the money to get a decent mac (macs are less bang for your buck) then he really should, for video editing.

also, AVID is considered more professional the Adobe although adobe really isnt bad.

and I still say
matrox, matrox, matrox!!!
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah, I knew you'd still say Matrox, so I didnt touch that one.

I didnt even notice that you were getting a socket 478 board. Why would you do such a thing? The socket 478's cost more money than the 775's, and not too much less than the dual cores. I'm not too keene on the dual cores as of yet, so I wouldnt be able to advise you on that front. But you have to AT LEAST go for a socket 775. At $180 for 3GHz, you really cant go wrong.
Him is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 03:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Yeah, I knew you'd still say Matrox, so I didnt touch that one.

I didnt even notice that you were getting a socket 478 board. Why would you do such a thing? The socket 478's cost more money than the 775's, and not too much less than the dual cores. I'm not too keene on the dual cores as of yet, so I wouldnt be able to advise you on that front. But you have to AT LEAST go for a socket 775. At $180 for 3GHz, you really cant go wrong.
what? isnt that what he should get?!
__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Ok you dont need a mac, a PC is fine. You dont need a 10k raptor. A dedicated 7200rpm w/ 8mb cache is fine. Also you need to remember that uncompressed DV-AVI's are 3.5mb for each second. You might want to consider what size hard drive you want. My guess is that you will not have a DV deck, so all of the transferring is going to take place off of your cam. So having a big drive lets you transfer more video, the more video you can transfer/store, the less stress you are going to put on your cam. And you abosolutely DO NOT JOG VIDEO WITH YOU CAM, it will eat away at your heads so quickly

Try to get a LGA775 based cpu. Like HIM said, they are cheaper and they are new. And for a video card. Do you really want to spend $1,000? I would just get a decent video card for gaming, it should get the job done for the OpenGL stuff. You wont be able to view most complex effects without rendering the video first, but it gets the job done. But who says your going to be using complex effects?

And and about dual cores? A dual core would be great! I am assuming that you are going to use Adobe Premiere. And Premiere does support SMP.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
Default

it all depends. like people have been saying, go with the 10k RPM drives, about a gig of ram should hold you, but i am not sure about video cards. try to make it as good as possible though.
AE-Thebornotaku is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'm thinking dual core isn't necessary at all. Socket 775 is obviously your good upgrade, and I do agree with a decent gaming Video card getting the job done. That's just my $.02

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well when he is looking at 3 hours rendering time, he can cut that down to almost half if he had a dual core.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

A raptor is not neccessary, but it would make the computer a LOT snappier in general. Don't you think you should aim for the biggest bottlenecks when trying to improve system performance?

A dual-core CPU is a must as far as I'm concerned. For just $20 more than the cpu you originally listed, the performance increase would be very, very noticeable.

As far as video cards, I definitely recommend a simple gaming card for flexibility and price. If it was a purely dedicated business machine, you might want to look into a matrox though, but that's not quite what it sounds like.
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.