Editing System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default Editing System

I'm helping a friend build a computer to edit video and such. What do you guys suggest as far as a processor and motherboard? I know I'm going to need quite a bit of Ram. I was thinking ~2 gigs worth. Also, what kind of video card should we look at? Thanks.
__________________

sickness is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

If you've got the money I would suggest a dual-core dual-proc system. That's only if you've got a ton of money though. If not, just go with a high end dual core cpu. 2 gigs would be nice, but one gig will get you through just fine.

The video card is really not that important unless you start doing a lot of 3D stuff. A 6600GT should have you set you up for a very good while for anything besides pure 3d rendering. You could even easily get by on a lower model card, but I'm not sure that the price/performance ratio would make it worth it.

Beyond that I highly recommend getting at least one 10k RPM raptor hard drive. They get way better performance than most other hard drives (though a few new 7200s are coming close in a couple areas). With the hard drive being one of the slowest components of a computer, I can't believe that more people (notably "enthusiasts") don't have one of these, though MANY do. The only draw is that a single raptor is only 74gb. Unless you are dealing with a very uncompressed video format however, this should be enough to have quite a few projects in rotation at once. Obviously, you'd probably need a storage hard drive, which is easily enough acquired. You could even slap two raptors in Raid-0 to form a 128gb hard drive that is even faster, if you are concerned about the space. As long as you transfer your projects over to the slower HDD once you are good and done with them, it really shouldnt be a problem though.

I've done video editing at a small studio for a couple of years, and that is my advice to you.

BTW, between an extra gig of ram or a raptor HDD, I would take the Raptor any day. Well, unless its a server or some stuff like that......
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Alright. So, if I was to load the OS and do the video editing on the 10k drive, and save the final movie to a 250 gig 7200 drive, would that do it? I'll look into that Raptor drive. And he said he plans on doing some minor 3D stuff. Nothing like Half-Life 2/DoomIII I don't think. I was thinking a couple of 6600GT in SLI mode.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Yea, what you said about the hard drives is correct. Once you think you're done with a movie, just transfer the final project to a 250GB drive.

A couple of 6600GT in SLI is definitely not neccessary. The performance equivalent of that would be a single 6800GT, but the 6800GT would even win in games that don't support SLI. Anyway, two 6600GT would probably be overkill, just like a 6800GT would be. It really depends on what type of 3D stuff he will be doing. If it is just 3D transitions and menus then by all means a single 6600GT will own it. If you want it to be a sweet gaming rig, too, a 6800GT would be a better bet over 2x6600GT.

Given that SLI was made for the reason that it was, I don't see the point in putting two mid-range cards in SLI... unless that's the reason SLI was created... to be pointless! Pointless unless you have the money to buy 2xhigh end cards, that is. The single high end card will give you better performance over 2 mid grades in SLI.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Alright, cool. Thanks for all the advice. He's comming over now and we're gonna take a look at some online stores. Get some prices and such. I'm sure a single 6600GT would work just fine.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Here's what I have so far...

Motherboard:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

Proc:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116172

Memory:
2x http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146545

Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127164

Hard Drive 1:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8&sku=THD-250A

Hard Drive 2:
Still Looking

Fan:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106042

DVD-RW
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827140007

DVD-Rom
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827131408

Mouse:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16826104178

Sound Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102179

Still need a case, and a moniter. Also I gotta find a cheaper 10k drive. Anything else I'm missing? Oh, and a keyboard. What do you think?
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

That computer should do anythingyou want! Nice!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 01:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Why do you have a dvdrw AND a dvdrom? Thats rather redundant.

And you're missing a floppy...
Him is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

I had a question about CD-Rom drives, but forgot to ask it. I wasn't sure if the HP DVD-RW would be good enough to play things like games, or audio CDs or movies. I wasn't sure if I needed a seperate DVD-Rom drive or not for that kind of stuff. So would I be okay with just getting rid of that DVD-Rom drive? I'd save me a couple bucks.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

this is going to sound crazy but DONT GET AN ATI OR NVIDIA CARD!!! getting a nive card for gaming will not help you for video editng. get a Matrox card. 3d is different then 2d and a 3d card will not help you very much. or, honestly, get a mac for video editing. they handle it very nicley, and Final Cut only runs on macs. Final Cut is the industry standard for video editing. several movies have been made in it and so on.

Go to newegg.com and for brand select matrox. I know they are expensive, but trust me, you will be much better off for video editing.

Also, as far as programs go, check out AVID Experess. you can get a free version from it, search google for "AVID Free".
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.