EAX version - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 06:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default EAX version

My new Creative Live! 24bit 7.1 sound card says it has EAX Advanced HD. I'm wondering, is the EAX Advansed HD is actually EAX v3?

Cause some games have these settings listed by version index.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes, the Live! only supports 3.0, unless creative released a new sb live. the audigy2 zs and up support EAX 4.0, aka advanced hd, and the x-fi supports 5.0 aka advanced hd. it is very confusing.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Ok, thanks. And are all the EAX 3.0 4.0 5.0 are just aka Advanced HD?
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

3.0 is not advanced hd, and last i checked, the sb live! only had 3.0 but creative might have made a new sb live or something like that...
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Well, than I think Creative do released new card, cause my card case and manual, and soft as well tells it has EAX Advanced HD. But no version specification, what lead to my question.

*Edit - I checked the creative site it says Live has Advanced HD, but do not mention the version (http://www.soundblaster.com/products...&product=10315)

And the EAX site says EAX 3.0 also has Advanced HD (http://www.soundblaster.com/eax/abouteax/)

So maby it is EAX Advanced HD 3.0???
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well than that is new info for me, the creative site used to say 3.0 was not advanced hd, and in any case, 4.0 is a very big improvement from 3.0, and many reviews claim 3.0 to be a flop. 4.0 and 5.0 are very similar, 5.0 only adds a few minor things that I do not remember off the top of my head.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.