Easy Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2004, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Exclamation Easy Question

I just finished building a new PC. It has the AsusV87X-X motherboard. AMD XP 2400 CPU. I have been collecting the parts for for a couple of weeks now and I had to throw an old hard-drive in it.

They only gave me one IDE cable with the ability to hold two devices.

My question is this...
Is it okay to have my Hard-Drive and my CD-ROM connected on the same IDE cable and port? And/or would it be better for my system if I had seperate cables with the devices connected on seperate ports? Or does it not really matter.

Also, can I use IDE cable from an older PC? I have a few from an old Celeron setup from 1998.

The computer runs just fine I was just starting to clean it up and make sure it is good to go.
Any Help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
__________________

Riggs69420 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 09:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Personally, i have found it better to have my harddrive on IDE1, and all my other devices on IDE2. That way i find it easier to not need to deal with pins, setting master and secondary etc. But it doesnt really matter.

Yes you can use an old IDE
__________________

fpshureih is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Talking Thanks

Allright then. Thank you very much. Now I can make use of these cables and get started organizing my case.

Thanks again!
Riggs69420 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Easy Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Riggs69420
I just finished building a new PC. It has the AsusV87X-X motherboard. AMD XP 2400 CPU. I have been collecting the parts for for a couple of weeks now and I had to throw an old hard-drive in it.

They only gave me one IDE cable with the ability to hold two devices.

My question is this...
Is it okay to have my Hard-Drive and my CD-ROM connected on the same IDE cable and port? And/or would it be better for my system if I had seperate cables with the devices connected on seperate ports? Or does it not really matter.

Also, can I use IDE cable from an older PC? I have a few from an old Celeron setup from 1998.

The computer runs just fine I was just starting to clean it up and make sure it is good to go.
Any Help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
Older cables Why not get the latest you can use,probably 100/66.
Do you have a Computer store in your town ?
Anyway use the ends for hd's and the center for cdroms.
You can up to 4,of your choice.
Windows should be on Primary Master.
batman is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 11:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Send a message via AIM to Cajun Tech
Default

You can definatly put a Cd rom on the same cable as a hard drive.
The problem with doing so is that you cut the access times between your hard drive and everything else in half if not slow it down even more than that. This is because CD Roms run at 33/mps, Burst and HDD's run at up to 133. so yeah you can but if you do you will be narrowing the worst bottle neck in your computer.
Cajun Tech is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 11:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Question How than

Quote:
Originally posted by Cajun Tech
You can definatly put a Cd rom on the same cable as a hard drive.
The problem with doing so is that you cut the access times between your hard drive and everything else in half if not slow it down even more than that. This is because CD Roms run at 33/mps, Burst and HDD's run at up to 133. so yeah you can but if you do you will be narrowing the worst bottle neck in your computer.
Do you recommend setting up 2 hd/s and 2 cdroms ?
Something gotta give,right ?
batman is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Place both CD-ROMs on the Secondary IDE controller and the two hard drives on the Primary IDE controller.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.