Easy to install PSU? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2004, 12:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

ok.....what is the size psu i should get with all the harware i have...my 5.1 speakers, 6800, overclocked 2500,

i was thinking around 450

is a 450w psu good for what i have or should i get 500w
__________________

__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 12:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You will need a minimum of 500 watts for your system (to be safe). What brand is the PSU?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 12:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

If you are getting a high quality PSU, then 450 watts will cut it.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 02:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

idk....whats the best psu (at least 450) that is around 50 bucks?
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 03:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

The Thermaltake W0014 Silent Purepower 480W with Black housing - Xaser Edition ATX 2-Fan Power Supply is 480W and only $55. It's what I got. Very good.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 05:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The PSU's that regulus recommended I would also recommend...cheap and a very good company. 480w for $55 you can't beat it....I have the 560 Thermaltake myself and couldn't be happier with it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 11:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I couldn't be happier with mine either. Think I'll use it till' one of two things occurs: 1. It burns out. 2. The rest of the system burns out/explodes/something bad happens, 'cause the 480W isn't enough to support it all. lol
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 04:45 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah but thermaltake is a good brand so I bet your 480 will last you quite a while
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.