DYI Fan Controller - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2008, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question DYI Fan Controller

Here is question for some one that is a little more electrically minded......

I am looking at setting up a fan controller that I can install on one of my PCI Slot Bays. When it comes down the fans, there is the following cables....

Red Wire - Positive Current
Black Wire - Negative Current
Yellow Wire - Fan Speed Detection

I have come up with the following wiring diagram. The power for the fan will be coming from the motherboard. I would still like to have the motherboard to monitor the fan speed.



Would I be correct in saying that all I need to do is solder a dial nob on the Red / Positive wire coming from the fan? Or would I need to be doing some thing different?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

What's the dial you will be using?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Not sure. I take it that there is more than one.......
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 01:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

I dont know much about current, but id say that it wouldint be safe to wire it straight to the dial.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I dont know much about current, but id say that it wouldint be safe to wire it straight to the dial.
Why not?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Why not?
Well i think the excess electricity when you turn the fan down needs to go somewhere. I say this cause the fan controller i have in my folding rig has 4 channels, a pcb, resistors, and heatsink.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Well i think the excess electricity when you turn the fan down needs to go somewhere. I say this cause the fan controller i have in my folding rig has 4 channels, a pcb, resistors, and heatsink.
How is there "excess" electricity? Is there heat from the volume control of your speakers?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Not sure about voltage, but if I get a dial that increases and decreases the Resistance, that should do the trick.

↑ Resistance ↓ Fanspeed ↓ Fan noise ↓ Dust in my PC
↓ Resistance ↑ Fanspeed ↑ Fan noise ↑ Dust in my PC

I only want the fan on high when I need the extra airflow.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harper View Post
Not sure about voltage, but if I get a dial that increases and decreases the Resistance, that should do the trick.

↑ Resistance ↓ Fanspeed ↓ Fan noise ↓ Dust in my PC
↓ Resistance ↑ Fanspeed ↑ Fan noise ↑ Dust in my PC

I only want the fan on high when I need the extra airflow.
I understood this from the beginning. I'm just wondering if you had the knowledge of what and how the dial works, and which dial you had in mind.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 05:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: DYI Fan Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
I understood this from the beginning. I'm just wondering if you had the knowledge of what and how the dial works, and which dial you had in mind.
No idea. Some one one another forum as posted up some circuit diagrams.
Variable Regulators

I am not doubting that this will work. However i am thinking that surely there must be a simplier way.


Currently I have speedfan operating in the back ground. However I would like a hardware solution.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding TT Armor 25cm side fan. manowar Overclocking and Modding 1 02-11-2008 04:05 AM
Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan mpumas Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-19-2008 07:04 PM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 01:54 PM
Zalman ZM-MFC2 fan controller Pinscher Overclocking and Modding 2 09-07-2007 03:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.