DVI question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default DVI question

how much clearer would mine be if I used a DVI video card with DVI cable compared to VGA. Is there that much of an improvement? Or is it only marginally better. Keep in mind I am not a gamer and will only watch movies on my PC on occasions.

I am wondering if I should spend the extra $30 if it's really that big of a difference.

Please let me know what you think.

thanks
__________________

Celticsfan is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: DVI question

well its not a huge difference but i find it is noticeable, but i only play games.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 12:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVI question

It's a small difference, but the colors are clearer. But why do you have to spend $30 for DVI?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: DVI question

When going to replace an old lcd here the new wide screen model came with both vga and DVI cables for HD application. If your monitor lacks DVI input you would spending for nothing since a newer model bought later would likely see that anyways.

$30 is a little high depending on where you shop as well. You can find them for under $20 depending on brand and quality. Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Default Re: DVI question

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
When going to replace an old lcd here the new wide screen model came with both vga and DVI cables for HD application. If your monitor lacks DVI input you would spending for nothing since a newer model bought later would likely see that anyways.

$30 is a little high depending on where you shop as well. You can find them for under $20 depending on brand and quality. Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
I have the cable. I am talking about a DVI VIDEO card.
Celticsfan is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 03:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: DVI question

well then you are just talking about the newer preferred interface of the gpu cards these days

it's just better in terms of CONVERSION....vga is analog and dvi is digital

the theory in all this electronics or computing stuff is that, the less conversion steps you go through, the better the product in the end, audio or video

the difference will be very minimal, in that nobody will notice anything when the image is moving...and you might be able to tell if you are looking at static imagery, like wallpaper, icons, etc...the difference can be scrutinized, but not when it's in motion and your eyes are 1-2 ft away from the screen

you can do a search on this and the more basic answer I would think is clearer...I'll attempt to explain is:

VGA is good for tubes or CRTs
DVI is good for tfts or lcds

I'll explain again if anybody needs

but as for your query, if you have a dvi video card and have an lcd...go for it, best match.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: DVI question

You will that just about all ATI and NVidia models seen at this time simply toss a DVI to VGA adapter in along with the card for use on older monitors. The mid to high end models usually see two DVI output jacks like seen on the MSI model in the image here with a primary and secondary output for dual monitors.

__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI will not work during boot kontradictor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-12-2008 10:03 PM
DVI vs VGA? akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-20-2007 12:13 AM
Need to buy a DVI cable Shafra System Upgrades 3 09-20-2007 10:12 PM
graphics card question m6qrp System Upgrades 3 09-15-2007 12:17 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.