DVI or HDMI cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2013, 05:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
PtownBubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Default DVI or HDMI cable

I run two monitors on my setup, one a 27in ASUS monitor the other a Samsung 48in LCD TV [ I use the 48In for gaming.
I power them with Twin ASUS GTX 560 TI GPU cards [ SLI ].
I am running the 27in with a DVI to HDMI cable, as monitor has no DVI input.
The 48 was hooked up the same way, but was having some issues with video freezing and/or momentary black screen, I am trying a HDMI to HDMI mini cable now.
the Question is,,,,does it matter on the GPU end , which output you use, DVI or mni-HDMI when going to ab HDMI monitor ? I can do either one, have both style cables,,,,, is there a preferred recipe ?
Options below, for one or both, or connect one each way ???

DVI to HDMI
or
MiniHDMI to HDMI

If DVI on GPU x 2, both on one card, or one on each card ?
If I go mini HDMI out, it would have to be one on each card.
__________________

PtownBubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: DVI or HDMI cable

should not make any difference as both DVI and HDMI are digital signals.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: DVI or HDMI cable

Actually, true as the above comment may be, in a battle to the death (not literally) with Soul I came across some interesting information regarding HDMI output with PCs.

You need to make sure in your Nvidia Control Panel (NVCP) that the drivers are outputting and treating both your HDMI outputs as a PC screen rather than a TV because you can have color fade and other random problems. TV panel quality usually isn't as high as PC panel quality due to the fact that you're normally sitting further away. In this case, the drivers will detect (usually) any HDMI output as a TV and send out a different signal.

Without this simple issue which can be resolved, no there is no difference. Only one sends audio, the other doesn't.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
PtownBubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3
Default Re: DVI or HDMI cable

ok, thanks guys,,,,, as far as the video card/Nvidia control panel settings,,, I am not seeing what you describe, as far as an output selection option,,, TV or PC,,,, ?

I am using
Win 7 64 Bit, if that matters.
Duplicate display

ps. Think I found it on the resolution page,,,, the PC bracket does not allow for 1920/1080 resolution ,,,,, 1080P which I am set at now.

PC mode only shows 1680/1050
PtownBubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.