DVDRW/CDRW drive troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default DVDRW/CDRW drive troubles

Hey guys, I've got a bit of a problem, I have a Sony DVD-RW/ CD-RW drive and although I can burn CDs fine, I can't burn DVDs. When I put in a blank DVD it recognizes it but when I try to click and drag it gives an error message like, "drive not ready" or something about not being able to access it. Any suggestions? I want to be able to burn data DVDs and videos.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If the DVD you are trying to use isnt on Sony's list of compatible media, then it might be an incompatible disc. If it is on the list, then your drive's lens might be dirty or the drive is starting to die.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Could be a problem with the drive. Is the disc the correct format? Ex. DVD-R or DVD+R? Also make sure your dont have other programs open that use the drive. Like Alcohol 120% or AnyDVD or anything to that effect.
Him is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Hmmm... Well it's a new drive and it can write cd's so I don't think the lens is dirty. Compatible media you say? How can I check that?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Should say it right on the box when you first bought it. That is a huge thing with DVD-RW drives. When they first came out, and you put the wrong media in there, it would ruin the drive to the point that you would need to buy a new one. nowadays it just wont work until you put the correct media in it.

It tells you right on the box. It's either going to be DVD-R, DVD+R, or Dual Format.
Him is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Well, unfortunately my pc was custom built and I have no documentation on the optical drives for some reason. But the site said it was dual layered DVD-R/ DVD-RW. And I bought DVD-R's.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hmmm...... I see. Were you trying to burn them in dual layer? You need special discs to burn dual layer.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.