DVDrom and writer problem that has them all stumped - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2004, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default DVDrom and writer problem that has them all stumped

The problem is my Compaq pc that I have had for approx. 1 year does not recognize my DVD/CDrom or the DVD/CDwriter. I have been through everything with Compaq support and they are no help. I have changed IDE cables. You name it I have done it.
Still the drives are not recognized by Windows XP. I can go into the BIOS and get the writer to be recognized, but after the pc sits idle for awhile it disappears. I was told it was a registry issue and downloaded a patch. No luck. I thought you guys might be of some help.
__________________

gospel is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

have you tried using the compaq restore disc?
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

do u use nero, clonecd or any drive emulation software?
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
have you tried using the compaq restore disc?
No, I have not. I'm not totally computer illiterate, but didn't know what would happen to my data if I used a restore disc?
gospel is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
do u use nero, clonecd or any drive emulation software?
I use RecordNow Max.
gospel is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check and see if it sets up a drive emulation
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
check and see if it sets up a drive emulation
I'm sure it does because it will make an "exact" copy CD. You put what you want to copy in one drive and a blank in the burner. I think this is what you mean by emulation? Right?
gospel is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

I think I may have found out what my problem is. I unhooked the IDE cable from the DVD/CDrom and the system booted up normally and windows detected the DVD/CD writer. This tells me I have a bad DVD/CDrom unless anyone else has another idea?
gospel is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try updating the bios
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 09:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
try updating the bios
Yeah, I did but it didn't help.
__________________

gospel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.