DVD-Writer question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2003, 11:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to rezurrectme
Question DVD-Writer question

guys and gals (hope there are some in here )

The festive season is drawing closer and I am sure along with processors, DVD-writer prices are gonna go down too and I might enlighten myself with one. I would like to have your opinion if my system will handle a dvd-writer splendidly, will do okay with it, or I need to add more power in order to get a decent performance out of the drive. Here's what I have got:

ASUS A7N8X-X
AMD ATHLON XP-2400+ (266 FSB)
512MB PC3200 DDR RAM
Sapphire ATI Radeon 128MB DDR
52X LG CDRW
16X LG DVD-ROM
80GB WD 7200 / 8 MB Cache
Onboard sound
AOpen QF50C - Blue-Beige
YAMAHA YST-MS201 (They Rock!)
__________________

rezurrectme is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

for sure, i reccomend if you get one go to a swap meet and buy a Pioneer drive
here in Australia the average price is about $300, but a swap meet can get to just over $200
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on a note, when you put the drive in try to avoid putting it on the same IDE channel as your Hard Drive.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ive just looked up the motherboard, and it only has 2 IDE channels, your options are to replace one of your current CD drives or put it on the same channel as your Hard Drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 12:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to rezurrectme
Default

oh yes, I dint realize this. I think I will put my DVD-ROM on the HDD channel as a slave and make my dvd-writer secondary master with my cd-writer being secondary slave. Would that be good?
__________________
<html><body bgcolor=\"#EEF2F6\" text=\"#000000\" id=\"all\" leftmargin=\"0\" topmargin=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\" marginheight=\"0\" rightmargin=\"0\" link=\"#000020\" vlink=\"#000020\" alink=\"#000020\">
<font face=tahoma, size=-1 color=903000>
<p align=justify>
ASUS A7N8X-X*AMD Athlon XP-2400+*512MB DDR PC3200 Memory*ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR*52X24X52 LG CD-RW*16X LG DVD-ROM*80GB WD 7200 / 8MB Cache*Onboard Realtek Sound*AOpen QF50C -Blue Beige*Yamaha YST-MS201 Speakers
*Samsung Syncmaster750s*Windows 2000 Professional (SP4)
rezurrectme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.