DVD Writer Burns disc's but doesn't read 'em - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2004, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default DVD Writer Burns disc's but doesn't read 'em

Guys ... I just picked up an Iomega DVD+RW 4x2.4x12

I'm using Nero to burn .. It burns the disc perfectly without any kind of errors etc..

But then later when i try reading the data of the disc .. the content is listed ..but when i try opening a file .. it keeps on reading .doesn't open the file .
I even tried using it on my other DVD drive ..

N' when i used Isobuster to try n' extract the data .. it keeps givin' me .. "could not read from sector" errors

I tried using other apps to burn dvd's ..even then it's the same case .

Any idea ..'bout what's goin' on??
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

with nero what type of compilation are you using?:

DVD-ROM (ISO)
Copy of a DVD
DVD-ROM (Boot)
DVD-ROM (UDF)
DVD-ROM (UDF/ISO)

and have you tested by burning only 3GB or less of data? i think some disc brands have trouble doing anything over 4 (suggested 3 to be safe). what media are you using? brand/ model
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Tried DVD-ROM (ISO)/DVD-ROM (UDF/ISO)/DVD-Video .. ... Hell i even tried a DVD-Copy

Tried a few unbranded discs of diff makes .. n' a couple of Primedisc's
Finally got tired of makin' coaster's

The only thing i haven't tried is burnin' less than 3GB ..
I'm gonna try that n' keep ya posted
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

You need to format using Nero . Then reformat agian using Ahead INCD.Makes no sense.If you try and just format with Ahead INCD stuff wont burn to disk right.Ahead INCD should be on your disk also.Should be 4 things you Dl off it.

When ever you burn something pop the disk out and make sure it burned in.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default

What did you burn ? If it's a movie it should play.Reading whats on a cd-rw or a dvd burned disk isn't really neccesary,is it ?
If it's data then thats another story.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 06:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Deadguy : ...I really donno what ur tryin' to say .. Why would i format a DVD-R disc .. U only need to to format Rewritable discs

Stan : .. Tried all sorts of stuff .. as i mentioned in my post earlier .. videos, data everythin' possible ...
N' dude .. how is not neccesary for u to read the disc that's written ..

ekÆsine .. I tried burnin' less than 3Gb too .. still didn't work ..
I concluded that it's a drive problem .. Think i'm right ??
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i admire your effort preet2u. yes, i do think something is up with your burner. maybe if you tried a slower burning speed it would work, but that would be a waste of a new burner that can't write as fast as it claims.

maybe your comp is too slow to write the data and is corrupting it. . . .but i don't think so. i suggest exchange it for another brand. personally i would have exchanged it after the second coaster.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 07:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Id figure if you were having trouble burning yuoed be using RW instead of R disc youed have to throw away if you made a mistake on.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Angry Re: DVD Writer Burns disc's but doesn't read 'em

Quote:
Originally posted by preet2u
Guys ... I just picked up an Iomega DVD+RW 4x2.4x12

Any idea ..'bout what's goin' on??
Any chance that you can return that drive back and get yourself another brand? Becoz that drive is fuc%ed. I had the same drive and I as had nothing but pain with it. So excuse the following bits of language.

1. Media and Firmware Updates. The Drive is fussy on what brand media that you are using. I like using LASER Media. And I had to use a BETA version firmware update that is avalable from NASA Technologies website to be able to burn with Laser Media.
NASA is also the Australian Importer for LASER media and other products. Las time I checked, this fermware is still not on IOMEGA's website. But in the end, I can only burn ayt 2x Times, although Nero is saying 4x Times.
BTW, LASER MEDIA is very commen down there.

2. Fussiness on drive. My BenQ DVD does not want to read any thing Burnt from this Drive. How ever my Sony DVD, LiteOn DVD will read them.
But it gets stranger still, my PS2 (unMODed) will read the disks. And my Toshiba DVD player (which HATES EVERY OTHER BURNT DVD or VCD) will read the disks.

3. The IOMEGA drive is a rebadge NEC Drive. Now I know to avoid NEC DVDRW too. I found this in one of the many times (lost count) on updated the firmware.


Being able to do stuff on my PS2 and DVD Player is great, but in the end I have no time to fuc% around scraching my head gambling whether or not the DVD disk will read in other machines. (Let alone IOMEGA biased firmware update that will only allow you to burn on to selected media brands)

IN THE END.... if you still have the receipt and the oringal packaging, and it's in a re-sellable condition... RETURN THE DRIVE TO THE PLACE YOU GOT IT FROM AND GET YOUR MONEY BACK!

I am never touching another IOMEGA CD/DVD product again!
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Re: DVD Writer Burns disc's but doesn't read 'em

Quote:
Originally posted by preet2u
Guys ... I just picked up an Iomega DVD+RW 4x2.4x12

I'm using Nero to burn .. It burns the disc perfectly without any kind of errors etc..

But then later when i try reading the data of the disc .. the content is listed ..but when i try opening a file .. it keeps on reading .doesn't open the file .
I even tried using it on my other DVD drive ..

N' when i used Isobuster to try n' extract the data .. it keeps givin' me .. "could not read from sector" errors

I tried using other apps to burn dvd's ..even then it's the same case .

Any idea ..'bout what's goin' on??

Do you have a dvd-rw disk,one that can be formated and used again? You should have an option from Nero for incd.If it's not on the start menu,go to the folder.If you cant write and read this disk your drive is a bummer,take it back.
__________________

stan-the-man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.