DVD+RW.....Wont !! - erase/reformat? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2004, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via Yahoo to mrlewp
Default DVD+RW.....Wont !! - erase/reformat?

I right-click on my HP300c DVD+RW drive , with RW disc containing movie files. On menu I will see "Erase this disc". I choose that , and an error pops up telling me something about another program trying to record to the drive ?? I have made certain all apps are closed , tried rebooting....same error. If I go back to right-click again w/out rebooting, the "erase" option is no longer there!
One techie suggested problem could be "Record Now" , and that I may have to uninstall it? Instead , I encrypted it's program folder to make it invisible , then rebooted. Same error message occurs.
BTW , only program I could find that had an "erase" function for DVD discs was........Record Now !!??
Very discouraged here......any ideas?
__________________

mrlewp is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try DVDInfoPro
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 02:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Is your dvd able to write DVD RAM. If so, right click on your drive and check the 'enable CD recording on this drive tab'. This will allow you to drag and drop files on your DVD and erase/reformat from windows.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via Yahoo to mrlewp
Default

DVDInfopro worked!! Thanks a lot.
mrlewp is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default

how much data is on that dvd.

a mb figure.
nbtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.