DVD+RW Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2004, 11:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default DVD+RW Drive

I have a dell computer and an 8X DVD+RW drive. I've never been able to burn a dvd and have always been getting errors at half way. My friend had the same problem, and after adding more ram, he was able to burn dvd's. I only have 256 ram. Should I add more to solve the problem?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

it wouldn't hurt AT ALL.what kind of burner do you have?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I know it wouldn't hurt, but will it effect? I have a TEAC DVD+RW DV-W58E. I got it with my Dell computer
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

all i can say is go with name brands like sony. thats what i use and have zero probs. Do you get buffer underrun errors when trying to burn? What software do you use? more RAM helps with every app that you may ever run, and yes it will effect it positively.
jaksback is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 10:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I get errors saying burn dould not complete at about half way. I've used Sonic RecordNow, STOMP RecordNow MAX and some more I don't remember. I don't think it's a problem with the burner or the programs, because I recieved Sonic RecordNow with my Dell computer, and I didnt install the burner, It came with the computer.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

usually (esp from dell) these 'come-with' burners aren't very good quality. again-get yourself a name brand burner and mor RAM.
jaksback is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I'm not going to spend another $200 buying another burner. I think I should just go for 512 more ram. Anyone know a good place to buy from? I'm willing to buy form the internet.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

I'm not going to spend another $200 buying another burner. I think I should just go for 512 more ram. Anyone know a good place to buy from? I'm willing to buy form the internet.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.