Is a DVD-RW (8x) drive worth getting for burning DVD's?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mallett917

Solid State Member
First things first, I have no knowledge of DVD burning, but I would like to look into it.

Questions -

For one to burn DVD's, would one have to download and compress DVD (to about 4-5 GB) from DVD disk to computer. Is that right?

Then burn 4-5 GB of DVD audio to 4-5 GB DVD-R disk and then there is a DVD to watch on the DVD player? Is that right?

With a DVD-RW (8x) drive, how long would the whole process be? The whole process of download and compressing orginal DVD to computer and then burning it to a disk? Is there any quicker process or better alternative?

AND do any of you rent DVD's from Blockbuster and then burn the DVD? OR is there some type of guard on DVDs?

THANKS!

I think there is a guard on DVDs. I think one of my friends tried to copy a DVD and he couldn't because of the guard. Stupid media people!

A single layre DVD holds 4.7 Gig. There are some new Dual layer burners out but i haven't seen any disks for them though.

You can get one complete DVD on one writeable DVD. The DVDs you buy from the store are 9.4 Gig (dual layer), so you would have to compress the data to ~4.7Gig. When you compress the data you lose quality. If you have a state-of-the-art set up, you can notice the difference. If you're like most people you wont notice.

When i make back-up copies of my DVD collection, it takes about an hour. I'm using DVD X Copy express, It takes about 30 min to read it in and about 30 minutes to write. I, however, am using a 4X writer so an 8X writer may be faster. I don't know.

About renting then burning. That's copyright infringement and it's against the law. Technically you are only allowed to make copies of DVDs that you own. I'm sure some people rent and burn anyway. :)