DVD rw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2005, 07:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
0o0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 48
Default DVD rw

i need a dvd rw that can read + and - ,(dual format) and
dual layer and if possible dvd ram
i looking to spend about a 100usd
there are alot of different brands around the same price
but this is what i've come up with....

ASUS 4x DUAL Layer 16X DVD+/-R DVD Writer

Samsung Dual Layer 16X DVD Writer Black

and a NEC 35xx sumting ithink(3520)

thanks
__________________

0o0 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

new NEC hardware is pretty good, they're getting much better compared to what they used to be like. i would get the NEC drive, just because i dont think the samsung one is very good, and the Asus drive is average.

meh, thats just my opinion though.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 09:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Go with the NEC, Lite-On, or Samsung. Anything else just is not worth it.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I like my LG 4160B a lot. I have created no coasters with it, and I have read a bunch of really good reviews on it.

LG has a 4163B out now, which supports 16x DVD-+R.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

BenQ1620


i've heard good things about the LG too.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
0o0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 48
Default

yeah i'll go with the NEC 3520A

would it be easier to have two drives when copying cd to cd so
if i want to do this for cd's and dvd's i'll need a extra dvd player
right? so it can play cd's and dvd's

thanks
0o0 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Ya, if you have a DVD-ROM (that plays CDs as well) and the NEC DVD Burner, you will be able to do a straight CD or DVD copy without taking up space on your hard drive.

Make sure to put the 2 optical drives on the same IDE channel!
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
0o0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 48
Default

sorry....but what does
"Make sure to put the 2 optical drives on the same IDE channel!"
acutually mean?
one below the other in the case or sharing the ide cable ?
sorry.....
0o0 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Ya, just sharing the same cable
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.