DVD-R's in Optical Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default DVD-R's in Optical Drives

I am attempting to play backup's I have made of movies, on DVD-R's. However, I keep on getting read errors. Like...

Failed to read file "Y:\" (My Optical Drive)
Incorrect Function

I also tried decoding them, to re-burn onto another DVD-R, fearing that the problem may be with the disk - but I can't even re-copy them. I've tried at least 20 different backups I have on DVD-R's, and none of them work. However, the original copies work fine.

PLEASE HELP!
__________________

highrisk is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

sounds like you backed them up incorrectly and the drive wont read them

will it let you mount and read the disk at all?
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I had my friend test it out in his computer to make sure they were backed up fine, and they work perfectly.

The drive reads them, and often times plays parts of it. I can also view the VOB's, etc. in "My Computer"
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

well if you can view the contents and your getting read errors, it you wont let you copy them cause your drive is either dirty or about to fail or even possibly not getting enough power to function properly
horndude is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 05:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What did you use to make the backups? Nero? Did you make sure you used the 'DVD Video' template? Try that.
Him is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I used Nero to back them up.

Maybe I need to upgrade the firmware, or something?
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

But did you chose "DVD Video" instead of "DVD ISO"?
Him is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Yes.

Again, these play in DVD players, and everyone else's computer tried - just not mine.
highrisk is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Do u have a DVD-R player? I know some optical drives will only read DVD+R discs.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-30-2005, 11:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I have a DVD+/-RW and a DVD-ROM/CD-RW Combo Drive.

I have tried them in both, and they both don't work.

Also, a majority of them are DVD+R's.

I just updated the firmware on my DVD+/-RW, and still no luck.

So, must be something with the software?
__________________

highrisk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.