DVD-ROM skips - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2003, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Unhappy DVD-ROM skips

I have a Compaq Presario Laptop! It's a 1.2 Ghz AMD Athlon XP wish Windows XP. Now my problem is it has a DVD-ROM but for some reason it skips often. I know it's not the lense for I keep cleaning that nor the DVD. I know there is a way to set the setting to route the data directly to the video card and audio card without having to go through the process of the rest of the motherboard and it's wonderful component. I just don't know Win Xp enough to do much. I'm also wondering if routing the data can be done on a laptop since the V.C. and A.C. are integrated. So my question is how do you fix the skipping?
__________________

chart47 is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15
Default

Don't buy a compaq
__________________

DeveloperX is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

I knew that one but it was an open box item at Circuit City because it was their display model. Otherwise I would have never bougt it.
chart47 is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15
Default

ha ha ha ha even worse
DeveloperX is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

I know... Sad isn't it...
chart47 is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15
Default

Do you still have time to return it? I can sell you one that works.
DeveloperX is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to chart47 Send a message via Yahoo to chart47
Default

Unfortunately no. I've had it about 30 days now. Even then I'm on the other side of the world of where I bought it. I bought it in El Paso, TX... Sorry
__________________

chart47 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.