DVD ripper - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2005, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default DVD ripper

hey, I would like to know if it is possible to rip DVDs to your hp in order to watch them on your comp without the DVD in ur DVD player?
If so, what program (free plz ) would you recomend i use?
I tried to make an image of the DVD with Nero but it didnt work
thx for your help
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Yes you can.

Use ShrinkDVD. It lets you cut out menus, subtitles and audio channels that you dont use, therefore saving drive space.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

I downloaded the program but I cant rip my DVD cause its copyrighted by the authors.
How can I bypass this annoying protection? I bought the DVD btw, so this is legal.
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zeroordie
How can I bypass this annoying protection?

Try dvd decrypter it should work for ya and it's free.
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Can you guys provide me some links? lol

Been trying to figure this out for weeks sadly....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Can you guys provide me some links? lol

Been trying to figure this out for weeks sadly....

http://www.dvddecrypter.com/
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Thanks man, now i can finaly copy my favs to my comp
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 11:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

you will also want something to mount the image.

http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/port...4522fb8826f143

try this.

it will make it act as another dvd-rom
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ZeroX
you will also want something to mount the image.

If you have a good program for watching dvd's you really don't need to mount the image,Most dvd program's will let you read it right from what ever folder you have it in.
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
If you have a good program for watching dvd's you really don't need to mount the image,Most dvd program's will let you read it right from what ever folder you have it in.
all dvd players will let you read the dvd files, but when you mount it as a virtual drive there is only 1 file to open.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.