Dvd+r/cw - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2004, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default Dvd+r/cw

im buying a DVD+R which burns DVD's and CD's and the drive can play dvd's all in one... but i was wondering since that one drive does everything. what can i do for a 2nd drive. cause i need a 2nd drive if i want to copy a game a friend has or if i want to copy DVD's... what would i do for a 2nd drive lol... any opions?
__________________

__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I know with CDs you can copy a CD by making an image on the hard drive and then copying it to a blank CD. If this works the same way for DVDs, then you only need one drive. If not then just get the drive you are getting now but get a second one.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default

a 2nd dvd burner? lol.. i was just thinking of gettin a 2nd drive which would be a DvD rom so i could just copy stuff.
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

That'll work too
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Ohhh, not a great idea to copy on the fly. I would buy a second CDRW that also plays DVD ROMs. The price is only a couple of $ more than a straight CDRW. Most CDRW has a higher recording speed on CDs than the DVD RW can do. You wrote that you are buying a DVD+R, I hope that you meant DVD RW that writes both +R and -R.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default

yeah DVD RW Copy DVD's -R and +R and Copys CD's and its a DvD player..the one im gettin has DVD write speed of 12x and write CD's for 48x i think thats fast enough? lol.
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
SiZcO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to SiZcO
Default

looking at that DVD+CW and it says Interface type E-IDE.. i thought all of them was supose to be just IDE... does E-IDE mean that my motherboard wouldnt work with that Drive?
__________________

ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 7
AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera 8-Core 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler
ASUS HD7850 Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Crucial MX100 256GB SATA III(SSD)
Western Digital 640GB (storage drive)
LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
CORSAIR CX series CX750M 750W
DEEPCOOL TESSERACT SW Mid Tower
SiZcO is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 01:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

The one you are getting will do everything you want just fine. It will work just fine with your motherboard.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 01:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

SIZcO you might want to take a look at this site. It features a lot of the upcoming techology. http://www.tomshardware.com
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.