DVD plays slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default DVD plays slow

I just got a CD player, burner, DVD player combo drive. Everything works fine, but when I try to play a DVD movie with Power DVD, It plays really slow.

I have a Pentium 3 and 260,400 KB of RAM. Does it play this slow because I don't have enough RAM to process it all at once?
__________________

befriend nerds is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what sort of graphics adapter are you using? need to know the clock speed of the p3 as well
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default

How do I find out the clock speed, and what is a graphics adapter?



I'm not the comp customization kind, so I don't know these things
befriend nerds is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol. graphics adapter=video card
clock speed=right click my computer on the desktop then click properties. in the section that says computer tell me how many mhz or ghz it says.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Well, It didn't say what the hz was, but I do know that core speed is 598.1 and FSB is 132.9 and multiplier is 4.5.
All I could find that seemed like what would be the video card is Intel 810 Graphics controller hub
befriend nerds is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Okay, your PIII, really sucks... Does it even meet the minimum requirements to play dvds? Maybe its your psu, nto enough power.
Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by befriend nerds
Well, It didn't say what the hz was, but I do know that core speed is 598.1 and FSB is 132.9 and multiplier is 4.5.
All I could find that seemed like what would be the video card is Intel 810 Graphics controller hub
there's your problem. that video card is integrated into your motherboard (motherboard = where all your stuff gets plugged into) and it actually uses your main CPU (the part that does the thinking) and some of your RAM (where everything gets loaded, including Windows) to generate the graphics.
this, and the fact that your CPU is not particularly fast is the reason DVD's aren't playing well.

what you can do, is try and find someone who lives near you, that knows the insides of a computer, and see if he can put in a better video card. if it has an AGP slot - the slot where your video card goes, if it is not integrated into the motherboard - you might be able to get any old video card, like what I used to use (one called a TNT2 RIVA) and it will take the load off your CPU.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah it must be integrated.

"Okay, your PIII, really sucks... Does it even meet the minimum requirements to play dvds?"

more than meets them, i can almost play movies fine in win xp using a PII-400 and integrated graphics. as a side point my dvd's play flawlessly full screen in linux on integrated graphics. unfortunately im having trouble getting my soundcard working
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 08:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

his CPU will play DVD's, he just needs a better video card to take load off his CPU. even a TNT2 should do fine for him.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.