DVD drive freezes Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default DVD drive freezes Computer

I have an LG DVD drive burner and everytime i put a cd or DVD in the drive the computer completely freezes (mouse and keyboard do not work) the only way to fix this is to turn computer off with the power switch. Device Manager says that the device is working properly and the driver is the most current and it does not show the yellow exclamation point meaning it is good to go.

2.8 Ghz P4
120 Gig HD
GEForce 5600
1Ghz pc3200 Ram
Windows XP Pro

Any thought please let me know
__________________

cooldogmsa is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would check the jumpers and cables on your drive. Does it happen with any CD?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

It is on Master and it is by itself going to an IDE slot on my motherboard. And yes it does that with every CD or DVD that I put into it.
cooldogmsa is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

If it is by itself you don't need a Jumper on it, if I remember right. When you have it set to master it makes it think there is another drive, so it searches and searches for it....
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You have to put it as master and on the end of the cable.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

It is set to master and on the end of the cable. I built this system myself. It worked for about 4 months just fine and now for about 2 months like this. What is weird is after I turn the comp off with the switch then turn it back on with the CD in it still it works fine and reads the CD just fine. It is only when I put it in.
cooldogmsa is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would update the drives firmware or try another IDE channel (cable)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

What is this: update the drives firmware. Is that the driver for the drive.
cooldogmsa is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, its kinda like a BIOS. Check your manufacturers website if they got a new version.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

The firmware thing worked. There was no new drivers for the drive but there was 2 firmware updates. I updated and now the drive works again thank you very much
__________________

cooldogmsa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.