DVD/CD-RW won't work properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Exclamation DVD/CD-RW won't work properly

On my laptop I have a DVD CDRW combo drive (ie. I can watch DVDs and burn CDs). However the past three times I have tried to burn a music CD the buffer rate goes all the way down, then fixes itself, but shortly after completely fails and the burning process stops at 30%.

Variables:
>I have not changed the type of CD I use when burning since I have had the laptop.
>I have always used Nero burning software.
>I have installed new RAM recently.

Basically, I am wondering if there is anything I can do to fix this error. If it is the RAM that caused this (I'm pretty sure the errors started shortly after new RAM) will taking it out fix it? Should I try a new burning suite? If the problem is not fixable the laptop is still covered under a 12 month HP warranty and 3 year extended warranty so I can get it replaced or fixed but I would rather that be the last resort. Any help would be great, I don't know anything about hardware issues, etc.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

"(I'm pretty sure the errors started shortly after new RAM)"

well you found ur problem
try this
change back to the old ones, and try to burn, see if it works
if it works, ur new ram are not very compatiable

are the new rams same brand and PCXXXX as the old one?
__________________

__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Funny thing...on my Compaq PC, I have an HP DVD Writer 300c drive, which is a DVD-RW and CD-RW Combi.

A while ago, I experienced the same issue. One day, I tried burning ordinary CD-Rs. I tried about 15 times, and yet I kept experiencing erratic burning, where it would write at full speed, and then decide to spin down and halt completely. All of the burn processes continually failed.

I think your drive is beginning to die. If you can still watch DVDs, read CD-Rs and CD-RWs, but can't burn CD-Rs or CD-RWs with success, then your CD Burner laser is probably failing on you. I bought a Samsung CD-RW drive to replace the CD Burner, but still use my old optical drive to watch movies.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Talking Thanks guys

Thanks for the support. I'll try switching RAM before seeing about replacing the drive. What would I do without the friendly people at Tech Forums?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

I just tried burning data to a CD-RW to see if the drive actually is broken and it worked. The WinXP built in burning function was able to burn 100mb of data, and then 495mb of data onto a CD-RW. Then I used Windows Media Player to burn one of my ripped CDs onto a blank CD-RW and that too worked. This surely must mean that it is an issue with Nero? Or maybe some CD goblins came into my house at night and did something to my blank CDs so they won't work? This is really starting to puzzle me.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

Okaaaay... random. I just tried burning a CDRW with Nero and that WORKED! What the heck is going on?!?!
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Are you using the same discs as used before?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 09:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Default

Since I got my laptop I have used the same CDRs. However today, I used a different brand CDRW. However, if it is the CDs that are the cause why would they chose to not work after 6 months. It must be the CD goblins I tell ya.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.