DVD Burning with multiple hard drives... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Question DVD Burning with multiple hard drives...

I have tried figuring this out and searching for an answer but nothing is working. I just installed a second hard drive as 'slave' on my primary IDE cable. When I try to burn at 8x on my dvd burner(master on secondary IDE) using data from the newly installed hard drive I get a 'power calibration error'. I have changed IDE cords, tested and made sure that I can burn fine from my 'master' hard drive at 8x, I do not know what else to do . I have wasted many blanks trying to troubleshoot this problem, if anyone has any clue to what is wrong I would greatly appreciate a response. THANKS!
__________________

barhoc11 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Can you burn from the other hard drive?

Also when you install a new hard drive dont you have to do something to it to make it transfer data for burning, maybe this is on older computers. But i thought there was something.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, it burns fine with the other hard drive. I dont know about any extra settings to it to 'make' it burn. If you know something I dont please let me know.
barhoc11 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Im trying to remember, but I dont know if I am right or not.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

OK I was wrong, I could of swore it would burn from the first hard drive, now its getting the same error when I try to burn from the first hard drive. I dont understand because when I turn down the speed to 4x it works when burning from either the first or second hard drive.
barhoc11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.