DVD burner won't open - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2005, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default DVD burner won't open

I have a Sony DVD+-RW drive which I also use as my CDROM drive. I am running XP SP2 Pro. After using the drive, I cannot open it. Neither pushing the eject button nor right clicking eject from Windows will open it. That gets really annoying...is there any way to resolve this? I'm going to return it if I can't fix it soon, but I don't want the hassle if I can otherwise just fix this problem.

gnu is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Unless there is some kind of power problem, it seems like you got a faulty drive.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: DVD burner won't open

Originally posted by gnu I am running XP SP2 Pro. After using the drive, I cannot open it. B]
Can't open it ever, or only when it's hot after use?
Jeff Lawson is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20

It can open if I don't use it. But even after on quick usage, say maybe opening a cd for 1 minute, it won't open again until I reboot my computer.

I have already ordered a replacement drive.
gnu is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

yeah thats weird- i have a DRU-710A- is that wut you have?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

I use to have that problem. I traced mine to poorly written pinnacle software. I uninstalled it and it went away

EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.