Dvd Burner ??'s - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 54
Default Dvd Burner ??'s

I'm in need of a new cd burner and figured might as well get a cd/dvd burner and had a few questions.
1. What is the difference between DVD-R and DVD+R? which is better and why?
2. Is it worth it to get one with Dual Layer?
3. Any suggestions for a DVD Burner?

Thx Droot
__________________

__________________
mmmmmm Easton Classic
Droot is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Get a burner that support both DVD-R and +R. I use -R just because my standalone DVD player supports DVD-R. Then you can burn -R and +R yourself and see what works best for you. I would get dual layer if I had to upgrade my single layer, you can hold a full length, full quality DVD on a dual layer, with a single layer, you have to take away some of the quality to get it to fit on the 4.7 gigs provided.

My suggestion, any Plextor DVD-/+R / CD-R combo drive.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

another difference is Apple computers will only burn on -R while Sony is the main reason +R are out. In the PC world, either will work for you. In earlier dvd burning, you could get faster burn rates on the +R but that doesnt seem to be the case anymore.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 03:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

DVD-R discs have a wider compatibilty rate than +R. If your living room is an older model, -R will probably work with it. Nowadays, all DVD burners will burn multiple format including CD-ROMS. Dual layer burners will also offer you the opportunity to burn dual layer discs but the mediums are fairly expensive right now so if you do get one, make sure that it also burns single layers (most do). LG make good burners and so does sony. The best way is to go to your store, check out the different models and then go to tomshardware or anandtech and check their reviews. This will help you make up your mind. Personally, I bought the LG 4081B when it came out and I love it.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 05:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Dvd Burner ??'s

Quote:
Originally posted by Droot
1. What is the difference between DVD-R and DVD+R? which is better and why?
2. Is it worth it to get one with Dual Layer?
3. Any suggestions for a DVD Burner?

Thx Droot
1. - The offical line that I have hear that -R media is better for Data where + Media is better for backing up movies. Not really an issue now days as most DVD burns are coming out dual format. And over all, I have not had must issue with backing up DVD movies on -R media.
-R is about 10% cheaper that +R media

2. - Might as well. The Dual Layer meda is still over priced. But I am convinced that the price will come down on the media in the next 6 months. Most new DVD Burners that are getting produces will take Dual Layer. And some of the slightly older ones just need a Firmware upgrade. Eg. My Pioneer 107D Burner where i just flashed the firmware so I will take the dual layer.

3. Pioneer 108D. I sell a lot of these, and I have had no problems with these.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 05:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Philips&Sony developed +R and as far as I can remember Pioneer developed -R. I think +R are more common but its different in every country. I would get a burner wich supports both.

I would get a Sony, Pioneer, BenQ or Plextor burner.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
would get a Sony, Pioneer, BenQ or Plextor burner.
Not sure with the BenQ. I have been having problems with BenQ burners this year (which is strange)
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i have seen problems with Philips so I wouldn't ge an LG because its the same. But basically every brand has bad and good burners.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Well, stay clear from IOMEGA / NEC. Good freind of mine has had NOTHING but trouble with his.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 08:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

i read in a Dell magazine that a DVD burnr will burn a CD faster than a CD burner will! if this is true i gonna just get a DVD burner! tel me if its true!
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.