DVD Burner Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default DVD Burner Problems

Hi all. I am using Nero 6 to burn a .avi file that I filmed with my video camera. I go to create your own dvd and add the file, then I create the menu. It then goes through the entire burn process, then gives me the error message at the end saying The disc structure failed to be created. So, when I insert the disc back into the drive, it appears empty, but Nero tells me there are items on it. So I have now wasted 4 dvd's on this. Anyone have any advice?

I also have the error log if anyone wants it.

I can burn dvd's using other programs, but they wont perform the function that I need nero for.



attached is the error log
Attached Files
File Type: txt err.txt (36.1 KB, 33 views)
__________________

Syn|kal is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 02:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to jaross
Default

search in google for "nero the name of the dvdrs your using" there is a slight possibility that nero doesnt agree with the media your using, although its more common that the media doesnt work with the dvd drive.

also, try burning it at the slowest possible speed.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX-55
2 GIGs Patriot RAM
ATI X850XT PL

G4 Powerbook

\"I have a blatant disregard for EULAs\"
jaross is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if your using cheap media or your comp doesn't have the resources (cpu power and ram) don't try burning above 4x on dvd's
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 08:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Im using Sony DVD+R's and I have a 3.2ghz p4 with 1024mb dual channel ddr ram...I should have more then enough resources to handle the job, especially when PC is idle and only burning.
Syn|kal is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Does nero convert AVI to DVD compatable files? By you error file it looks as though it has. You could try converting the AVI files to MPEG before you author your DVD. I prefer to use DVD authoring software and write the completed DVD file (or image) to hard disk before writing with Nero.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

P.S. you could have a look around www.videohelp.com for software or ideas.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks for the link, I'll take a look at it. Could you recommend to me what you use for it?

And yes, Nero converts the files. My friends have no problem doing this operation. It seems as though only I have the issue.

I also know my burner is working correctly as I tried to directly copy a dvd from my own personal collection of movies, legally, as a backup, using Dvdshrink and it worked perfectly.
Syn|kal is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Ulead are quite good, but there are many different ones depending on whether you just want a simple tool or a full blown authoring package (with prices to suite). The link I gave rates different software.
You could try different discs (I tend to use DVD-Rs rather than +) but if the discs are working for other DVD writing then this probably isn't the problem.
Have you also tried updating the firmware of your DVD writer?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Default

No, I havent attempted to upgrade the firmware. Ill take a peek at that tonight.
__________________

Syn|kal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.