DVD burner not compatable? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 03:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: western CT
Posts: 11
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

SATA look for SATA ports on the mob and power supply if you have SATA slots on the mobo but not power, its 20$ for a new power supply with SATA you gunna need to return that drive for a SATA one though or, you can get SATA to IDE converters wich I use when ghosting drives so I dont have to switching cables
__________________

schaft0620 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

You can also get 4pin molex to sata power connectors.

sata power cable

instead of busting money on a power supply

also the mobo has 4 sata connectors, so theres no problem there.

sata dvd burner

or you can get a sata to ide converter

converter
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 05:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

MegaComputer.ca - Ultra ATA133 PCI Controller Card

I just found this online, does anyone know if these support dvd writers as wel as hard drives?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 05:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

Thats not the problem. We know, FOR A FACT, that the motherboard support DVD drives. Take out the second drive and put it on the PCI card. Connect the DVD drive to the second's drives old spot.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 05:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

Quote:
is there any way to get the dvd hooked up and keep both hard drives hooked up?? i really need them both.
Quote:
you can get a sata to ide converter

converter
If he does not have the ide card already, it would probably be cheaper to invest in a couple sata to ide converters. they are worth the money. I have one myself hooked up to my LG burner.

His mobo also has 4 unused sata 3.0 ports.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 05:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

That's the other option.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

where in canada can I get a sata to ide converter?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 09:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

so what you guys are saying is if I get a ide to sata converter and plug my dvd burner in it will still work that way?

also will I need to buy some cables or are the ones on the converter long enough to reach, it has to go from the dvd burner (at top of case) to the sata port (botton of mobo)
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

those are pretty cheap, like ~3 on newegg. (hopefully you live in usa)

and also, you can get a pci-ide card, and do it that way, which ever way is simpler for you (and cheaper)

I just perfer sata because it makes the wire-management in the case way easier to manage, and the data interface is pretty fast. theres many options you can go with:

1: get a pci-ide card

2: get a sata dvd burner

3: get a sata-ide converter

4: get a usb-ide converter

5: drop a hdd and hook up your dvd when its needed (cheapest, lol)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 12:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

I live in canada but is there ny place in canada to get a sata ide converter?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Burner and regular DVD drive recommendations? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 28 07-23-2007 08:32 AM
DVD burner acting weird...wont burn correctly. truegamer129 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 07:46 PM
removing my main HDD and DVD burner from the "safely eject hardware" list... therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-11-2007 11:36 AM
External Burner not reading blank discs sayaprayer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-26-2007 12:00 PM
LG DVD Burner is SLOW sammytheman Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 05-12-2007 08:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.