DVD burner not compatable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2007, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default DVD burner not compatable?

I just got a new computer and I can't get my dad burner hooked up because there aren't enough pins on the ribbon cable to make it fit . There is one cable that will fit but it is being used for the 2 hard drives. is there any way to hook the dvd burner up to the small ribbon cable?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

Are you trying to hook up a floppy cable to the DVD drive? What motherboard do you have and what is your current setup?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

the mobo is a Intel D946GZISSL and i have 2 hdds using the one ide ribbon . on my old comp there was room for the dvd but now thers one plug left but it has too few pins to fit.
is there any way to get the dvd hooked up and keep both hard drives hooked up?? i really need them both.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

Sadly, this board has only one IDE cable slot. This means that you can only put a maximum of two IDE devices on that cable onto the slot. Do you have any PCI slots available?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

yes 2 pci slots are available is there something that can be done there?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

One drive has the O/S and the second can be removed without affecting booting (meaning that the second is for data, not O/S), correct?
If so, run the second drive off this and use the DVD and primary drive with the current IDE cable.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

1st drive has os (won't boot since it came outta an old amd system. 2nd is files
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

HMm that does look good but in the reviews it says does not do well with optical drives which is the sole purpose i would get it.

Edit: is there any sort of adapter that can convert ide into sata so i can plug my hdds into that and the dvd into the ide cable?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

will something like this work so I can plug my hdds into the sata ports and leave the one ide for the dvd burner?

SATA to IDE or IDE to SATA / Bridge Boards - Granite Digital
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: DVD burner not compatable?

well im assuming that you already have sata ports, so why not just invest like $30 US and get a sata dvd lightscribe DL burner?
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Burner and regular DVD drive recommendations? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 28 07-23-2007 08:32 AM
DVD burner acting weird...wont burn correctly. truegamer129 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 07:46 PM
removing my main HDD and DVD burner from the "safely eject hardware" list... therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-11-2007 11:36 AM
External Burner not reading blank discs sayaprayer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-26-2007 12:00 PM
LG DVD Burner is SLOW sammytheman Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 05-12-2007 08:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.