DVD burner and CPU speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 58
Default DVD burner and CPU speed

Hi

I have decided on what DVD burner I want to order

The MSI DVD recorder DR4-A IDE Retail DVD+R/+RW and DVD-R/-RW.

Only thing is that it mentions it needs a min sys requirement of
IBM® PC compatible Pentium® 1GHz or faster

I have a 1GHz AMD Athlon

will this be okay?

look forward to your input. Would like to order it tonite
cheers
Bullit

company info on the drive:
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/d...rch_text=DR4-A
__________________

Bullit is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

This shouldn't be a problem. As long as your mobo has enough ide ports for it
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Bullit you will have no problems. DVD burner rely on hard disk speed/latency more than processor. even a 300Mhz processor can handle a burner. plus they have buffer underun, i think they are using mount ranier or powerburn technology on all of them now.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 58
Default

nice one mod

it's burnin time! ;-)
Bullit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.