dvd burner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2003, 05:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default dvd burner

is there an easy way to install a dvd burner (replace my cd writer)_
in my sony desktop? Anything i need to know?
__________________

gumball is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 153
Default

Depends on how old your PC is to begin with. If it's a year old, go ahead and install it. The OS should detect it.

If not, update your BIOS. Update your OS. Install it and hope it gets noticed.

What are the specs of your machine?
__________________

__________________
COMPtia A+
COMPtia Network+
Quantum is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

the system is only about 8 months old

sony desktop
1.7 athlon
80 gb hard drive
windows xp
512
gumball is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

itll work fine im pretty sure
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForceģ GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

yup, i agree with SnS,..especially that youre runnin xp
devlish96 is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

i just got it today and i am going to install it either tonight or tomorrow. wish me luck
gumball is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

goodluck buddy,..i wouldn't get worked up bout it if i were you. if things fail...just log on.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

thanks alot that is why i came into this forum.

i will need alot of help and i am not a brainy person but here is one for you my internet keeps disconnecting after sitting for awhile or just downloading something, where do i go to length the time if idle or completely shut off that feature?

i have windows xp.

thanks once again
your help if very much appreciated
gumball is offline  
Old 06-17-2003, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

Dial up crappy isn't

i didn't know if it was a setting on my internet options or the isp itself

thanks
__________________

gumball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.