dvd burner - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default dvd burner

hello, i am new to this forum, and i was wondering if any of you had any experience with copying dvds. every time i have tried to copy a movie i get a copyright message, i was reading in another forum and read about a program named shrink, i tried it and it seemed to only back up my dvds, i would like to be able to play the movies in my home stereo system. Is there a step that i am missing?

any help would be greatly apprieciated.

thanks again
mooney456
__________________

mooney456 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Welcome to this forum,

yes DVD's cannot be copied directly, what you have to do is: decrypt the DVD into your hard drive (this 4.7GB will become around 17-18GB), and then again encrypt into DVD-Burner again shkinkin gthis size into 4.7 or less GB.

but the thing is, you never get exactly 100% quality when ever your decrypt and encrypt. (am not in this piracy stuff, but knows how things are done)
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default

what do you use to decrypt the dvd to your hard drive?

and then what steps do you go through to shrink it to a dvd

thanks again, for all help

mooney456
mooney456 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

her are you my friend, with link for the FREE DVD decrypter software (its Free of course) but you'll be needing the DVD Encrypter softwre, which I believe to be not free( I think) but you can try the trial versions of them.

i am unable to tell u naes of encrypter softwares, as I have only once decrypt the DVD (checking what effects it brings on actual DVD and result = 17-18 GB)

here is the link am mentioning, this is oficial site for dvd decrypter. and those who are interested in this, do visit the site, play around (but avoid piracy)

DVD Decrypter Official Site + software (Free)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 06:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

The program you were talking about is called DVD SHRINK and it works great. It will copy your DVD and you can play them on your dvd player at home. It works with NERO so you need this program as well to do it in one shot. BTW DVD SHRINK is free, do a google search.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

just about anything is free for computers... just do a search for it.. i know people that can get just about anything.. its kinda funny!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 10:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

first of all its easyer than you think to do this ill run you through it put your dvd in your drive open dvd shrink click on open disc it will then scan the dvd create a folder for the dvd to go into then hit backup in shrink you will get two folders one called video_ts and one called audio_ts you dont need to use the audio_ts folder just the video_ts next open whatever burn prog u use i have nero open nero goto create dvd video add your video_ts folder then click finished then click next then next again and it will burn hey presto if your still strugling try this guide http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/arch...dvd_shrink.cfm
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 04:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 104
Default

Create a new folder in the C drive,,,,, named,,,, VIDEO_TS

Then open dvd shrink ( use dvd shrink 2.3 ) the newer version has some hiccups

dvd shrink will then analize the dvd

Then click Reauthor

on the right click on largest title file and drag to the left under the New DVD column

make sure there is no red up on the size bar should only be green ,
If any red is showing, compress to what ever level you need ( level 1 or 2 or 5 ) Compresson box on the right.

then click back up and back it up to the folder you created on the C drive VIDEO_TS

When finished use nero to burn the copy



It is that simple mlr had everything right except for forgetting the reauthoring part.
__________________
System 1
AMD Atholon 64 processor 3400+
2.20 GHz: 1600 MHz FSB
512MB PC3200
200GB HD
Sony DVD +/- Burner
Media Center
Win xp Pro
19\" viewsonic monitor & 17\" Sharp LCD Monitor/Tv


System 2
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 533Bus speed
512 MB DDR2700
60GB
DVD+/- Burner
Win xp Home
flgirl is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 07:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default

i did it the way that mlr said and everything worked great except for the sound during the actual movie was not there, but the main menu and the previews all had sounds any ideas there.

still thankyou everyone for your help this is by far the most helpful forum i have ever been too!!!

mooney456
mooney456 is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 104
Default

You still have to reauthor or some of the stuff dont work correctly, like sound
__________________

__________________
System 1
AMD Atholon 64 processor 3400+
2.20 GHz: 1600 MHz FSB
512MB PC3200
200GB HD
Sony DVD +/- Burner
Media Center
Win xp Pro
19\" viewsonic monitor & 17\" Sharp LCD Monitor/Tv


System 2
Intel Pentium 4 3.06 533Bus speed
512 MB DDR2700
60GB
DVD+/- Burner
Win xp Home
flgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.