!!! Dust !!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 05:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Dust in the air is sucked into the case by the fans.

If you want to help prevent some of it, get some filters for your case (easier than it sounds).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 06:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, and clean out the filters often because they will clog up and restrict aiirflow.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Hi guys. If you make sure your computer in takes are filtered properly I don't think it's that important to clean. After a few years your computer is junk anyway. If you have to clean like every 6 or 12 months chances are your filtering is pretty bad. I'd rather improve your filtering than worry about dusting. Some people never dust without any problems like that person who posted before.
Happity_Poppity is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

What about cat and dog hair? will that be bad if it gets sucked into your computer?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 03:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

its the same as dust, it will clog up fans and reduce efficiency of head dispersal.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Wow. don't you guys use filters on all the intakes in your case? :amazed:.. I replaced my CPU fan on my PIII not too long ago (since it broke after like 5 years ). And the darn thing was not dirty at all.

Maybe, I just have clean air in my room??..

Chankama is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I think animal hair is worse than dust because since its hair it can jam fans alot worse than dust can, it killed my dads psu fan and now he has a 120 dollar gaming psu with a green light in it and its only an amd k6 500mhz.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

No filters on my rig, but that's because it doesn't have standard intakes.

My comp is/was an eMachine w2040, wiht a mini-tower case. It has ventwork along the side panel, and suck air in around the USB ports in the front bezel. Sort of tough to filter that.

I make sure to clean it every 4-6 months, whether it looks dusty or not.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Dust acts like insulation in your computer, trapping heat. Heat is not a good thing in a computer.
what happens if you have winter of -30F at night time. is it good to have dust?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

-30F? Then you'll have bigger problems than your computer. You'll probably have frost bite and quite possibly freeze to death very quickly.

I think it's probably better to get a good heater unit. THEN you can worry about better filtering for your computer and cleaning it and such..

__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.