!!! Dust !!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2005, 07:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default !!! Dust !!!

Hello I have got a new computer, can dust make the computyer brake? its not really that dusty just a pain.

Lawrie
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 03:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Not really sure what u said man. Other than that you are asking us about dust.

Well, it'll be nice if there is only little dust. But these things are built to handle them without any problems.

I think they have various coatings on the electronics as well (don't quote me on this btw).

In anycase, one of my machines I've been running for 6 years without ever cleaning it for dust .. And another computer in my parents house has been running (and still running) for about 8 years without a clean job ..
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Dust acts like insulation in your computer, trapping heat. Heat is not a good thing in a computer.

Cleaning your case out once or twice a year is a great idea. You can buy cans of compressed air at about any office supply place or department store. Just follow the directions and you'll do fine.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 12:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Yeah. Trotter makes a good point. With regards to heat transfer. I've never really noticed any problems myself since nothing of my has crashed/burnt out yet.. But, I guess, you could monitor your components to see if there is a temperature increase over time if needed be. I haven't had this problem, but who knows ..

Anyways, keep in mind that many computers that people buy off the shelf work for years and years and years. And I am pretty sure these guys don't clean their systems for dust.. ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 106
Default

lol sorry for oftopic. just had to post.


coz i was reading dust!!! not strange u think..
but i readed it in norwegian. and dust = idot/jerk in norwegian.
(And "støv" = dust..)

so when i read more i did not understand what that had to do with the topic ...

On topic:
My old HP startet to rais temp. and make strange noises.
so i opened up and it was covered with dust (støv) so i found my mini vakumcleaner. and set it to minimum. and got read of the dust. then took out the fan. and cleaned it.

And the HP was like new again. nois disapered. temp was under normal. but thats because i did some changes to rais the airflow.
.
__________________
TJ...
Tjukken is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

dust can kill your power supply, then it will kill your motherboard.
nuke is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Dust killed my parents.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 04:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

dust cannot directly kill a component but it can cause fans to clog up so it causes overheating. It also makes it harder for heat to transfer to the air so components will heat up even more.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

those things of compressed air are pretty cheap anyway.

you could always use a bike pump....
joshd is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

I ment dust in the air? near the machine?
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.