Dust - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default Dust

My room can get dusty, i left my old pc's side cover off for a fwe months and i just looked inside and everything is covered in dust...what is the best way to prevent my lian-li case from getting dusty and my room in general?

and what is the best way to clean an lcd screen!
__________________

Conan1981 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Proffesionally, you should use an can of compressed air (remember to hold it upright, not at an angle) to blow out most the dust, then use a special static-free computer vacuum to suck up the remainder of the dust. Use a lint-free cotton wool bud to scap out any crap that's left in the tight spots. Do this precedure regulary to prevent the massive build-up of dust

I know how you feel btw, my room gets dusty as anything (living in the woods tends to attract more dust somehow...).
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

It's called a vacuum cleaner and Pledge...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Its called get some filters to put on the fans and leave the side on if possible....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Its called get some filters to put on the fans and leave the side on if possible....
Well exactly
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I meant for his room...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

lol yeah, Somehow I don't think Pledge would work too well in your computer.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

For LCD screens you use a damp rag and that's it. DO NOT use any cleaning agents as it'll eat away your screen and possibly ruin it.

Simple damp rag with regular water, and wipe..that's it
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

What about CRT screens?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well isn't that just glass? You can use windex on that. LCD's don't have glass screens, it's closer to a fabric, so you can't use stuff like windex or it can desolve your screen lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.