Dumbest hardware screwups... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2004, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default Dumbest hardware screwups...

What was the dumbest thing you've done installing, rebuilding, tweaking or whatever inside your computer?

Here's my most recent:
Like a dumb *** I removed my fan and heat sink from the processor, I realized too late that I only had a little thermal paste left, just barely enough to cover the processor with a thin coating.
Where I really f'd up was thinking that there was no thermal tape or paste, and when I was taking the heat sink off, it felt like it was stuck and after a good pull it came off, processor and all!! You know how there is a small lever/locking arm for the processor socket, well, it was in the lock position still (or course) and I had bent up about 8 pins. I was kickin my *** for it. I VERY gently straightened them back out with a tiny screwdriver praying the whole time that one of the pins wouldn't break off. Thankfully none did. I would really have kicked myself in the *** if that had happened. Anyways all is well and it's running just fine.

Post your screw-ups. We all know we've done something dumb like this at one time or other and hopefully now we can laugh about it now (at least after we've paid the bill for it...haha). Who knows maybe we can learn from each other's mistakes.

jaksback is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451

The text color will be the same as yours......

Here are 2:

1. When I was installing the 9600XT video card in my computer, I accidentally knocked one of those little "column" looking things over and it almost broke off of the video card......and keep in mind that I had just payed $200 to buy this at Circuit City, and even though I could have went back and got a refund or the same card, I still would have been pissed at my own self for doing something so ridiculous.

2. Not long ago, I went to uninstall one of my display drivers (Nvidia) so that my ATI drivers wouldnt have any conflicts........turns out, I uninstalled one of the motherboard drivers, completely disabling my AGP ability, and leaving my video card stuck in "PCI" mode. After a couple of mobo driver downloads and changes here and there, though, everything was, thankfully, back to normal!

Cmon people, post up!

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the "column looking thing" would prolly be a capacitor
I haven't really made any big fu** ups..............

maybe not yet
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 06:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

reformat the wrong HD
Spend a week building a new system with counless re-installs only to find that i had 1 stick of bad PC 1066 Rambus memory :[ .
Forget to plug in the PS and spazz out becuase nothing worked .
Accidently remove the Display in Windows System Config ( Had to turn it back on in DOS :[ )
Plug my monitor into the onboard Graphics after i install a PCI Video Card .
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432

I once bought a 9500 Pro AGP card, when I didn't have an AGP bis

Good thing though, because thats why I started getting into computers

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 01:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127

It looks like you've done some nice improvement on your hardware since then
System specs:
Mobo: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
CPU: PIV 2.80 HT
RAM: Kingston 2*256 3200
HD 1: IBM 80GB 7200
HD 2: IBM 40GB 7200
CD: NEC (anno 1996)
GC: Radeon 9600 Pro
fiezk is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23

Only last week I bought a new MB for an old computer that someone gave. I didn't take the time to work out where the front panels should have went on the board and ending blowing something because the CPU fan stopped working. Managed to take the MB back and exchange it though.
Shawzer is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 07:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83

My laptop display was starting to go bad. I unplugged it, made sure I was grounded and took the battery out. I found that the circuit tape that came from the motherboard, wound around a post on the bottom of the display and then connected to the display was starting to tear at the wind. I put everything back together and WOW it worked fine again. I decided to reinforce the tape and took it back apart. After retaping the wind I started to plug it back on the motherboard when I saw a spark go from the motherboard to the display. I FORGOT TO TAKE THE BATTERY BACK OUT!!! Display good. Motherboard bad.
Fragino is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

I Installed a new CPU, Put the PC together & Turned it on only to smell that stinch known as not plugging in the CPU Fan!
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-28-2004, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

hey kboy, I did similar, I had plugged in the CPU fan to the wrong plug, luckily my bios screamed at me and shut me down to tell me something was wrong with my CPU fan. It took me 3 times total before I plugged it in the the right one. All I had to do was get the trusty flashlight out to read the damn mobo like I should have done in the first place.

And this is all within the same screwup as the mutilating my CPU pins in the start of this thead.

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.