Dumbass Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2005, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Dumbass Question

I don't know much about the hardware side of computers, but could anyone tell me how I can find out the size of my monitor?

Thanks Anyone

sean83 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone

Get a ruler.

MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 06:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Tape measure?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333

You could also "google search" the monitor brand & model number to get the quick answer.
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

lol yeah. The tape measure is the way to go! .. Oh just go to some big computer store/warehouse and pinpoint a monitor that "looks" something like urs. 2" is a big difference - so it's easy.

Or search with the model #.....
Chankama is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

If you do use a ruler, just make sure you measure from the diagonal. That's the only way you will get a good measurement of what size monitor you have...

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 08:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

Measure the screen from corner to corner,Most of the time it is an inch smaller than what it's supposed to be,For example a normal crt 17inch monitor should have a veiwable screen size of 16inch or a bit more.
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363


Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

Yeah but remember that 17 inches is referring to the actual size of the cathode ray tube. The edges of it are concealed behind the plastic case of the monitor, so you actually see less than this.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487

Yes, viewable size is always 1 inch less than the size.

<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.