Dumb question: How to use a multimeter?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 04:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah remember measurements this way:

Volts are measured by connecting the leads across the thing. (Remember "vaults across", as in pole vaulting.) You are measuring the potential difference between two points in a circuit.

Amps are measured by connecting the multimeter in series in the circuit, so it is effectively part of the circuit.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 04:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

n0t a dum question...
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shrike
ok, that makes sense, except now I dont know what the 200m means in the Ampheres section!
The "m" in what you are talking about refers to milliamps, or one thousandth of an amp.

BTW, don't feel like you are asking a dumb question, I know a lot of other people read this post and learned something.

If you find electronics interesting, do some more research on the subject. You will be surprised how handy it is to know about it when you get into building and repairing devices.
__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

the basic stuff so u can jsut use it is....

V~ (AC volts, ex.- volts from wall socket)
V= (DC volts, ex.- volts from a battery)
upside down horse shew (ohms)
ofcourse A is amps.

Black lead stays in COM port for ground
Red lead gets put in the apropreate hole for what your reading

only thing u can damage is if you stick the meter on a circuit wile reading amps, if the amps on the cuircuit are greater then the meter can withstand, then the fuse in the meter will blow, and you'l have to replace it b4 reading amps again. the amp limit isnt the max reading on the meter its something higher i think, it should say on the back.

i may be rong on this(been awhile) but i think u just need to move the decimal 3 places to find what any reading means... 352a = 352000ma = 352000000ua.... 352ua = .000352a
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to Matrix-D
Default

anyone have some recomendations for multimeters. i want to buy one. Thx
Matrix-D is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 06:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Fluke 77 series

I got a fluke 77III, cost 300$ CDN so it's a bit on the pricy side
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 07:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

You don't have to spend that much on a multimeter. I mean, you get what you pay for, but you can pick up a perfectly accurate one for about £30 GBP (not sure about dollars).
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for all the info, that will definitely get me started

Just out of curiosity, what are the symbols in the

lower right hand corner?
The hFE and the arrow symbol?
Shrike is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hFE rates the transistor gain, and the arrow is the symbol for ground (assuming the symbol directly above the COM) if your talking about the arrow that looks similar to this ->|- between 200 and hFE then thats the symbol for diode.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

iv never had to use these settings b4, so i have a few questions..
Quote:
hFE rates the transistor gain
what do u mean by this, does that measure the voltage difference between the base/emmitor?

and what the diode setting... what more could that do except tell u if a diode is good or bad? is that all it tells u or does it tell u more?

i dont have a multi-meter myself, otherwise i would just look at the intructions to tell me such things lol.
----------------------------------------
and that looks like a dam good multimeter, i dont know what brand it is, but if u dont care about it, u could prolly sell it fora few hundred bucks, depending on its condition/brand.
------------------------------
if you were going to buy a multimeter, u may wont to check out a sears brand like crafsman(not shur if thy make meters, i never checked) but all craftsman come witha lifetime warrenty, and there not that expensive.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.