dumb question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2008, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Question dumb question

can you SLI/Crossfire cards that are not the same brand? XFX with EVGA, etc.
__________________

mahiv87 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: dumb question

Yes, just as long as it's the same card.

The only stupid question is the one not asked.
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: dumb question

Yes you can, as long as it is the same model card. Same specs and all (although i've seen people do it different)

Example, XFX 8800GT and EVGA 8800GT . Make sure the specs are same.

Just curious, why would you want to mix brands, unless you were given another card or something?
MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: dumb question

well i have a XFX GTX280 and i've been watching a BFG Tech GTX280 on craigslist. well the guy has dropped the price to $250 from $400 and i am thinking about buying it and doing some SLI... thanks for the reply.

So your saying a 280 and a 260 wont work in SLI?
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: dumb question

No they won't. Only 2 280's would work.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: dumb question

ah, got it. thanks
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 09:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: dumb question

yes two brands would work together, and then no to two different cards. But remember, that if one card is clocked lower then the other, the higher clocked card will downclock to the speed of the lower clocked card.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Question Army11b System Upgrades 9 10-14-2008 11:18 AM
Question about compatibility + recommendations missilekt7 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 10-03-2008 11:44 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-30-2007 01:07 AM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.