Duel monitors with two video cards. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Default Duel monitors with two video cards.

I recently purchased an emachine (#T3256) and I installed a Xtasy ATI Radeon 9600 256MB AGP video card, as well as an older SIS 64MB PCI video card with the hopes of running a muilti monitor system - which for the most part works, but I am having some trouble and any help would be greatly apreciated. The main problem I am having is that the SIS card is acting as the main video card, when for obvious reasons I'd rather have the ATI card run as the primary device. I have already selected "Use this device as the primary monitor" under the Display Properties' Settings tab, but the system still sees the SIS card as the main card over the ATI. The main conflict right now comes when I want to run a newer game that would require the specs of the ATI card. The game sees the SIS card as the main card, and even though the game will be on the monitor pluged into the ATI it wont run. Also, when booting the computer up, all start up messages and the emachine logo load up on the monitor pluged into the SIS until windows loads the display properties.

Here is an example of the kind of error I get when runing the Halo2 demo:

If anyone can help I would greatly apreciate it. If you need anymore information just let me know.


ThrowingChicken is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak

why don't you just use the 9600 for both monitors? or does it not have dual monitor capabilities?

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37

No, It does not without something i believe is called ramselect, but im not sure about this at all. I am using the SIS card because i happend to have it.
ThrowingChicken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.