duel monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2008, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default duel monitors?

i will be needing a new computer for school soon (might wait till collage cus the collage i want to go to gives you free ones), but anyway i am running a laptop right now and thinking about getting a desktop, but i would want to have duel monitors cuz i end up having alot of windows up. so with compouter will be mainly for school work, so nothing expensive.

where my questions:
1. will i be able to simple drag a window to one monitor to the other?
2. is there certain parts i will need?
3. any disadvantages?
4. will i be able to have two separate start screens but use the same mouse easily?
5. is it actually worth the extra monitor? (these world be cheap 15inch)
__________________

__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: duel monitors?

1. Yes
2. No, just a 2 port video card and maybe some free software.
3. Desktop sucks for college, grab a laptop.
4. Huh?
5. You have bad spelling and grammar.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: duel monitors?

1-yes
2-a video card with two video outs, but almost all have that
3-takes more graphical power, but if your not gaming, then no
4-the mouse can go all the way across real easy. Get a good one, with 2000dpi or higher

dag on, beat me to it
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: duel monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
1-yes
2-a video card with two video outs, but almost all have that
3-takes more graphical power, but if your not gaming, then no
4-the mouse can go all the way across real easy. Get a good one, with 2000dpi or higher

dag on, beat me to it
Don't I always?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: duel monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
1. Yes
2. No, just a 2 port video card and maybe some free software.
3. Desktop sucks for college, grab a laptop.
4. Huh?
5. You have bad spelling and grammar.
yea sorry learning disablities dont help spelling or grammer
__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: duel monitors?

what do u mean by 2 seperate start screens? i would go with a laptop and have a monitor in you apartment/room/dorm when you use it there.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: duel monitors?

im not a very good adjudicator, but CALM DOWN everyone!!!

And for Qn 5, i'd probably say no, its better to stick with one higher res screen than two smaller ones, since with a larger res, u can get more windows in anyways...

Also, why dont u (if your laptop has video out) just get another monitor, hook it up to the laptop, and run hte screens concurrently (i tried it and it works with my mum's laptop....)...

Then you can save money on the pc, and keep your laptop and get a better monitor!
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 12:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to pts2800
Default Re: duel monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
im not a very good adjudicator, but CALM DOWN everyone!!!

And for Qn 5, i'd probably say no, its better to stick with one higher res screen than two smaller ones, since with a larger res, u can get more windows in anyways...

Also, why dont u (if your laptop has video out) just get another monitor, hook it up to the laptop, and run hte screens concurrently (i tried it and it works with my mum's laptop....)...

Then you can save money on the pc, and keep your laptop and get a better monitor!
thats a good idea, i might end up trying that
__________________
DESKTOP: Dell XPS 400
memory-2g
CPU-Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
mobo-Dell Dell DXP051
CD Drive-sony dvd-rom DDU1615, philips DVD+-RW DVD8701
video-nVIDIA Geforce 7800ght 256mb

LAPTOP: old and broken looking for new one
pts2800 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 03:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: duel monitors?

Don't insult people, this forum is for helping people who need help. I will hand out awards to people who continue to do it.

1) Yes.
2) A graphics card with dual outputs any modern card will be more than fine.
3) The cheaper your card the older it is (normaly) an the older your card you will not be able to game as well that is if you plan to game.
4) Yes the mouse will cross from one screen to another.
5) I would get a better size monitor 17in wide screen to take full advantage.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 02:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: duel monitors?

Again Keep this thread on topic next time I have to clean it up I will hand out awards.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multi monitors taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 6 02-18-2008 10:13 PM
Two video cards; three monitors dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 23 01-13-2008 07:39 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM
Duel monitors, Primary monitor not knowing its primary software wise teh_gr1m Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-29-2007 01:02 PM
Wallpapers for widescreen monitors Osiris Web Graphics and Design 4 04-11-2007 10:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.