Dual Xeon Processor vs. Amd 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2004, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default Dual Xeon Processor vs. Amd 64

which computer would be better and more reliable? A computer with dual xeon processor or a computer with amd 64. any way the bettom line is that i really wanted to know if the amd is as reliable as the intel chips or not.
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Amd's are very reliable.

But if u wanna run a server go with dual xeon its the best for servers.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default

also, i was wondering if the dual xeon processor one would be good for gaming as well as a good system for years to come.
__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

bah, no, amd is all about the gaming, intel is more for servers as stupid... lol... anyway as stupid pointed out.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 300
Default

AMD is better as long as you got the cooling for it
__________________
*PyRo* is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 02:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd go with the Athlon 64 3400 or FX - the 3400 outperforms the FX in some areas so I'd reccomend it over the FX especially since it is like half the price
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I'd go with the Athlon 64 3400 or FX - the 3400 outperforms the FX in some areas so I'd reccomend it over the FX especially since it is like half the price
Ditto


Why a Xeon vs. AMD64 though??? Shouldn't it be Xeon vs. Opteron...... I don't understand why your comparing a server chip to a desktop chip
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

becuase gamers think that if you have a dualie their games will somehow run faster. if you want ultimate gaming go with the ones these guys are suggesting....and i'm with stupid too, hehe
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 121
Default

as well as for gaming, i was also going to do some cad on it. what i was looking at was a workstation from dell.
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS Gen 2
[Gallatin] Northwood P4 Extreme Edition 3.2 @3.46 --->(CPUCOOL)
PC3200 1.5GB
ATI 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Maxtor 120gb IDE
Hitachi 250gb SATA
Windows XP PRO SP2
Teac DVD+RW
Samsung CD-R/RW

3DMark01 20772
3DMark03 7190
Dell XPS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.