Dual vs. single core (advice please) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2006, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default Dual vs. single core (advice please)

I consider myself a multi-tasker and for a long time I was sure I'd get an Amd dual core processor, but now I think its more of a luxury. The way I see it, Dual core would only be needed if you are actively doing something in two programs at once. Now I run multiple programs at once, but The only time I can think that dual core would really be needed is when I run a virus scan or something to that effect. SO, my question is: is dual core the way to go or would a faster single core get me more bang for my buck. The main thing that I'm considering is dual cores have larger L1 and L2 caches so would that mean better processing for non multi tasking? Also, in less technical terms, do both cores in a dual core combine to process single tasks or is it just one core works the other takes a break until you give it something to process?

Why pay for two cores if only one of them is working 90% of the time.

bum is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

dual cores can work on a single task but the application in question needs to have SMP (Symettric-Multi-Processing) support.

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286

How commom are SMP's (like in terms of games)? obviously older games won't but is this something new or has it had time to mature?

and thanks, I appreciate it.
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 03:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Quake 4 is the only one to my knowledge that supports it (needs the update.)

I find my self wanting a dual core processor quite a bit now (doing photoshop, converting films to individual frames to edit them, and it would also be nice to run gamecam in the background (recording what I am doing) with a frame rate that is decently playable. It is up to you though, a dual core processor will have long 'future proofing.'

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.