dual socket 939 board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2004, 05:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default dual socket 939 board

ok, they have 3000+ processors in socket 939, and they are $199 aus so 2 of them would be cheaper than 1 3500+ processor which is $435, so i figured if they made dual socket 939 boards you could get a faster system for less this way
does anybody think there will be any dual socket 939 boards ocming out?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

1. Dual-Proc systems don't work that way.
2. You're not going to get 3.6GHz speeds by putting in two 1.8GHz processors.
3. The only dual-proc 64bit boards I know of, are for servers.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

dual sockets come in servers, there must be some boards arriving but currently Opetron server boards are on 1 CPU support only. as Server platforms chipsets have been made by AMD itself in past.

still 1 opetron CPU out performs 2 X Xeons in performance.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

There are dual Opteron server boards available. Problem is, those are just for servers.

Socket 939 is being phased out, anyway. Most manufacturers only have one or two boards with socket 939 with no plans to make more.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Socket 939 is being phased out, anyway. Most manufacturers only have one or two boards with socket 939 with no plans to make more.
What are you talking about? Socket 939 will be continue to be upgraded and worked on while Socket 754, and 940 will be phased out and not continued to be used.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Nubius is correct.
ag3 is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Socket 939 is going to be the new standard, not sure where you heard they are being phased out from.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 01:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
1. Dual-Proc systems don't work that way.
2. You're not going to get 3.6GHz speeds by putting in two 1.8GHz processors.
3. The only dual-proc 64bit boards I know of, are for servers.
I think you misunderstood my post
dual processors don't work in what way?
I was saying they'd have a performance advantage, not that they'd double in frequency with a dual system
I do know that currently they don't have dual socket 939 boards, although I was curious to know if they might make some

I know of people using dual opteron's for gaming, it does better than all the high end single CPU system's (except for maybe the 3.8GHZ FX-55, lol)
if I got watercooling I'd have to get an additional CPU waterblock, which costs more, but having 2 Athlon 64's both overclocked to 3GHZ in my PC sounds really good to me
a dual opteron sounds nice also, but in socket 940 you have to have registered RAM which costs more than the RAM I want, is slower and is harder to get
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 09:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
I know of people using dual opteron's for gaming, it does better than all the high end single CPU system's (except for maybe the 3.8GHZ FX-55, lol)
if I got watercooling I'd have to get an additional CPU waterblock, which costs more, but having 2 Athlon 64's both overclocked to 3GHZ in my PC sounds really good to me
Dual processor systems don't run like they sound. They can handle instructions faster, but there exists no way (in mainstream PCs I mean) for the two processors to share the handling of single tasks. What you essentially have is a queue of tasks to be processed, but even then things down whittle down at twice the rate. The controlling between the two chips is a bottleneck for local hardware.

Chances are, anyone using a dual-processor system for gaming, knows enough about hardware to tweak the crap out of things. I don't know of any non-workstation graphics cards that can communicate with dual CPUs at full capacity.

Anyway, the performance advantage for gaming is marginal at best.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.