Dual Rail PSU and O/C, more confused than ever! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 08:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Did you read the specs?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Dude.. I think the mere fact that the Antec got 3/5 stars says it all. The Noisetakers rail output is higher than the Antec's on every rail. I didn't bother to read the other specs like stability and overload protection and such since I don't have too much time to crunch the #s. I will assume that the Noisetaker does a "decent" job at not blowing up the stuff - considering it's a pretty good company. . And it's 1/2 the price.

EDIT: btw Noistaker is a model of Enermax.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Ohhhhhhhhh, right....................
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Well if a dual rail PSU is crap, then that quad rail PSU thats around $500 must **** big ****.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Okay, I can see that I should have been a little less glib in my comments. I meant that I have read that some forum users have stated that they thought that single rail psu's are preferential for overclocking in that the total amperage can go where it is needed (ie: not limited to one rail or the other). I was concerned that by using the dual-rail psu, I may end up shortchanging the amperage on one rail or the other after adding some more components and overclocking. I'm not so concerned about that anymore. Thanks.
Shibby is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 02:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default

I am running a dual rail, and it has been awesome. Now, that said, I have not OC's yet, as I am relatively new to OC's and want to replace my ram first.

I did a lot of research on the Dual Rail thing, and because of the SLI configuration and the VC's needing a steady reliable source of power, I chose this one (in my Sig).

My power Sup has been extremely useful in preventing the shorts that could have occured, but DIDNT because the PSU found them and turned off first. (Bad Floppy). The stats are pretty good and according to the specs in the book it should support whatever I decide to do with the OC'ing when the time arrives. Of course, it was a little expensive.
__________________

__________________
enGRAVEr

*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.