Dual Processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2003, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default Dual Processors

Hey. I'm new here and I was wondering if anyone could explain dual processors to me. I've only heard vaugly about them, I would like to know more. I'm interested in finding ways to enhance my technology to optimize me 3d animation and video production, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanx
Dan
__________________

dandaman is offline  
Old 08-25-2003, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

dual processors is where you have a motherboard that has 2 individual processors on it (xeon or G5 are the only ones that support it right now) it is really good for video rendering because essntialy you can process info twice as fast
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 08-26-2003, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Default Ok

Ok. Can I get some more details? What are the pros and cons of dual processors? Would it be a good choice for my heavy editing & animtaion programs, or are there any other alternitives I should look to? Like I said, I want to get the best out of my machine so I can use my programs to their top efficency. Anyways, Thanks for the help. Later.
Dan
dandaman is offline  
Old 08-26-2003, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

if youre going with a pc, you dont need 2x processors, just get a P4 @ 3.2 ghz w/800 mhz fsb, itll be alot cheaper than a 2x xeon @ 3.06 ghz w/ 533 mhz fsb
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-27-2003, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dethangel
(xeon or G5 are the only ones that support it right now)
Athlon MP has been out for a while and is big in the duel processor market.

Anyway, don't waste your time/money on a duel setup unless your running a web server or something like that. The program decides if you can utilize the second cpu. Games will not run faster. Check out Tomshardware.com He did a nice story with benchmarks comparing a single cpu to double cpu system.
Lostman is offline  
Old 08-27-2003, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

yah dual procs is really only practical in a server-type situation
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.